Bicity Solar Energy Suppliers

MECO 2kWh Portable Power Station

KSh 75,000.00

  • Model: Meco 2kWh
  • Capacity: 2009.6Wh, built from two 314Ah LiFePO4 cells
  • Rated output: 1200W, pure sine wave
  • Battery lifespan: 8,000 cycles
  • AC output: 220V, range 200V to 240V, 50Hz or 60Hz, universal socket
  • Solar input: Up to 600W, 12V to 60V, built in MPPT
  • Grid charging: 1200W, accepts 90V to 280V at 45Hz to 65Hz
  • Conversion: Gallium nitride electronics, 92% efficiency
  • Built in: MPPT controller, inverter, battery and BMS in one unit
  • Protection rating: IP20, indoor use only, no water protection
  • Operating temperature: 0C to 40C
  • Certification: UN38.3 and IEC62368
  • Size: 252 x 226 x 311mm, around 19kg
  • Runs: Fridge, lights, TV, laptops, router, CCTV, washing machine on cold, rice cooker, small air conditioner
  • Will not run: Electric kettle, instant shower, hotplate, anything above 1200W
– +
SKU: BC-PPS-MECO-2KWH Category: Brand:

Description

MECO 2kWh Portable Power Station: 1200W From Two Large Cells

At 1200W of output and 2009.6Wh of storage, the MECO 2kWh Portable Power Station sits at the point where a battery unit stops being an electronics backup and becomes a household one. The 1kWh model in the same range keeps lights, a router and a laptop alive. This one adds the fridge, a washing machine on a cold cycle, a rice cooker, and briefly a one horsepower air conditioner.

It is made by Shenzhen MECO New Energy and built on Megmeet core technology, packaging an MPPT solar controller, an inverter, the battery and a battery management system into a single plug and play box with no installation and no wiring.

Bicity Solar Energy Suppliers publishes what a unit cannot do alongside what it can. Two things here need saying early, because both cost buyers money when missed. It is rated IP20, which means strictly indoors. And the runtime figures the manufacturer publishes appear to be calculated without conversion losses applied, so the real numbers are lower. Both are covered below, with our own recalculation shown.

The 1200W ceiling, in Kenyan appliances

Capacity is how much energy is stored. Output is how fast it can be delivered. At 1200W this unit reaches further up the household than most people expect at this size, but the boundary still falls where it always does, on appliances that work by making heat.

Appliance Typical draw On this unit
LED lighting, whole house 30W to 60W Yes, easily
Router and modem 10W to 20W Yes, easily
Laptop 45W to 90W Yes
Television 40W to 100W Yes
Fridge or freezer 100W to 200W running Yes
Desktop computer and monitors 150W to 350W Yes
Washing machine, cold cycle 300W to 500W Yes
Rice cooker 500W to 700W Yes
Blender, mixer, small power tools 300W to 900W Yes
Microwave 800W to 1200W Yes at the smaller end, marginal above 1000W
Air conditioner, one horsepower Around 850W running Yes, though startup surge varies by model
Clothes iron 1000W to 2000W Only the smallest, most exceed the limit
Electric kettle 1500W to 2200W No
Electric hotplate or cooker 1000W to 2500W No
Instant shower or water heater 3000W to 5500W No

The rice cooker line is worth pausing on, because it is where this unit separates itself from smaller ones. Heating appliances are normally out of reach at this size, but at 500W to 700W most rice cookers fit inside 1200W. That single capability changes what a long outage feels like in a Kenyan household.

How long it lasts, with the arithmetic shown

MECO publishes runtime figures on its own product page. We have recalculated them, and here is why.

Turning stored direct current into the alternating current appliances use costs energy, given up as heat. MECO states its own conversion efficiency at 92%, achieved using gallium nitride electronics. Applying that figure to 2009.6Wh of storage gives roughly 1,850Wh actually delivered to appliances. The published runtimes appear to be calculated from the full 2009.6Wh without that loss applied, which makes them optimistic by around 7 to 9%.

This is not a complaint about MECO. It is the convention across nearly every manufacturer in the category. We publish both figures so you can size against the realistic one.

Load Draw MECO published Recalculated at 92%
Fan 30W 66 hours About 61 hours
Laptop 60W 33 hours About 31 hours
Television 100W 20 hours About 18 hours
Fridge, if it ran continuously 150W 13 hours About 12 hours
Hair dryer, low setting 200W 10 hours About 9 hours
Washing machine 300W 6.6 hours About 6 hours
Rice cooker 600W 3 hours About 3 hours
Large television 700W 2.85 hours About 2.6 hours
Air conditioner, one horsepower 850W 2.4 hours About 2.2 hours
At full rated output 1200W Not published About 1.5 hours

The fridge figure is the one MECO understates

Having just argued that the published numbers run optimistic, here is the case where the opposite holds, and it matters because the fridge is why most people buy this size.

The 13 hour figure for a 150W fridge assumes the fridge draws 150W continuously. Fridges do not work that way. A fridge cools to its set temperature, switches off, and stays off until the interior warms past a threshold. That duty cycle typically runs between a quarter and a half of the time, depending on room temperature, how full the appliance is, and how often the door opens.

A 150W fridge at a one third duty cycle averages around 45W to 50W of real consumption. Against 1,850Wh delivered, that is roughly 35 to 40 hours, not 13. Even sharing the unit with lights, a television and a router, a full night and the following day is realistic.

The other half of the fridge question is startup. A compressor briefly draws several times its running current the instant it kicks in, so a 150W fridge may pull 600W or more for a fraction of a second. Connect the fridge first, on its own, before adding other loads, so it has the most headroom for that first start.

IP20 means indoors, and this one catches people out

This is the most important limitation on the page and it deserves stating without softening.

The unit is rated IP20. The 2 means protection against solid objects larger than 12mm, essentially fingers. The 0 means no protection against water whatsoever. Not rain, not splashes, not spray, not damp.

The reason this causes expensive mistakes is the category’s own vocabulary. It is sold as a portable power station and a solar generator, and both phrases suggest outdoor equipment. It is not. It belongs indoors, in a vehicle, in a tent, or under solid cover. A sudden shower while it sits in a yard is enough to ruin it, and water damage is not a warranty matter.

If your use genuinely involves exposed conditions, dust, sites or farms, tell us and we will point you at equipment rated for it rather than sell you this one and watch it fail.

Two large cells, not a pack of small ones

MECO describes itself as a pioneer of large cell home energy storage, and the construction of this unit is the clearest expression of that.

Look at how a conventional battery is put together and the contrast is stark. Dozens of small cells are stacked up and tied together electrically, and because no two cells behave identically, supervising electronics must sit on top watching each one, shuffling charge between them, and shutting the whole pack down if any single cell steps out of line. The wall mounted battery in a home solar installation works exactly this way, with sixteen cells and a management system policing them.

This unit uses two 314Ah LiFePO4 cells. Two, not dozens. Three consequences follow.

Almost nothing can drift out of balance. The gradual divergence between cells that limits multi cell packs, where total capacity ends up dictated by the weakest cell in the group, has very little room to develop between two. That is part of why an 8000 cycle rating is credible here.

Fewer internal connections means fewer failure points. In a product that gets carried, set down and moved between rooms, that is a real reliability benefit.

It cannot be expanded. The capacity in the box is the capacity you have. Outgrow it and you buy a larger unit rather than adding to this one.

Gallium nitride, and why 92% is worth noticing

MECO specifies gallium nitride electronics delivering 92% conversion efficiency. That is an engineering choice rather than a marketing word, and it has consequences you can feel.

Gallium nitride switches faster and wastes less energy as heat than the silicon components used in cheaper units. Less waste heat means more of your stored energy reaches your appliances, which is where the 92% comes from. It also means less cooling is required, allowing a more compact enclosure for the same output.

For comparison, conversion in budget units often sits closer to 85%. On 2009.6Wh of storage, the gap between 85% and 92% is around 140Wh, which is roughly three extra hours of television on every charge.

Charging, and the one solar detail to get right

From the grid, the unit charges at up to 1200W and accepts 90V to 280V at 45Hz to 65Hz. That wide window matters in Kenya, where supply at the end of a long distribution feeder sags well below nominal during evening peak, and equipment with a narrower input range stops charging at exactly the times you most want it topped up. A full charge from empty takes under two hours.

From solar, it accepts up to 600W through the built in MPPT controller, within a panel voltage window of 12V to 60V.

That 60V ceiling is the detail to get right, and it is what installers most often get wrong on units of this class. A single modern large panel, of the 550W to 620W class, typically operates around 42V and sits comfortably inside the window. Two of those in series would roughly double the voltage and exceed 60V, which the unit will not accept. So: one large panel, or several smaller panels wired in parallel rather than in series, up to the 600W ceiling.

Matched correctly, the unit recharges fully in about four hours of good Kenyan light, at which point outage length stops being the constraint. It becomes a small standalone power system rather than an emergency reserve.

Protections and certification

MECO publishes an unusually detailed protection list for this class of product: over and under voltage protection on the mains input, over current protection on the AC output, reverse polarity protection and power limiting on the solar input, over charge and over discharge protection, cell level high and low temperature protection, over temperature protection, and short circuit protection.

The unit is certified to UN38.3, the United Nations standard covering safe transport of lithium batteries, and IEC62368, the international safety standard for audio, video and information technology equipment.

Certification is worth asking about on any imported battery product, and it is routinely absent from listings in this category. A cell meeting UN38.3 has passed altitude simulation, thermal cycling, vibration, shock, external short circuit, impact and overcharge testing. Where a seller cannot tell you what a unit is certified to, that absence is itself informative.

Honest limitations

It cannot boil a kettle. At 1200W, kettles, hotplates, instant showers and most irons stay out of reach. If cooking and heating water through outages is the requirement, the answer is a permanent installation rather than a bigger power station.

IP20, indoors only. Covered above, and worth repeating because it is the mistake that destroys units.

Operating range starts at 0C. Comfortable across virtually all of Kenya. Worth noting only for the coldest highland nights, where the unit should be indoors anyway.

MECO’s own documents disagree on weight. The downloadable datasheet says 19kg, the product page says 16.5kg. Either way it is transportable rather than genuinely portable: it moves between rooms and into a vehicle, but it is not something to carry any distance. We are asking the supplier to settle the figure.

No UPS function is published. MECO does not list automatic switchover on either the product page or the datasheet, and we will not print a feature the manufacturer has not stated. If uninterrupted switchover is the reason you are buying, for a desktop or a CCTV recorder, ask us and we will confirm with the supplier first.

The socket count is not published either. MECO specifies the outlet type as universal, meaning it accepts several plug types, but does not state how many outlets there are. Assume you will want an extension strip, and remember everything connected must still total under 1200W.

Warranty terms should be confirmed at purchase. MECO does not publish a warranty period on this product page. Bicity Solar confirms current warranty terms in writing at the time of sale.

Choosing between the 1kWh and the 2kWh

Decision factor 1kWh model 2kWh model, this product
Stored energy 1004.8Wh 2009.6Wh
Cells One 314Ah cell Two 314Ah cells
Rated output 500W 1200W
Runs a fridge Marginal Yes, comfortably
Runs a rice cooker No Yes
Runs a washing machine on cold No Yes
Solar input 300W 600W
Grid charge power 500W 1200W
Protection rating IP20 IP20
Weight 11kg Around 19kg
Best suited to Electronics, lights, connectivity Running a household including the fridge

Both are indoor units. The decision is about how much of the house has to keep running. If the answer stops at lights, internet and devices, the 1kWh does it for less. If the fridge has to stay cold and you would like to cook rice and run a wash, this is the one.

Who this suits

  • Households wanting a normal evening through an outage. Fridge, lights, television, internet and charging together, for a full night.
  • Anyone with a freezer holding stock. Small butcheries, shops selling cold drinks, households buying meat in bulk. One spoiled freezer often covers the cost of the unit.
  • Small businesses. Salons, cyber cafes, tailoring shops, pharmacies with cold storage. Enough output to keep trading through an outage.
  • Clinics and dispensaries. Lighting, a fridge for temperature sensitive supplies, and device charging.
  • Off grid properties. With a matched panel on the solar input, this operates as a small standalone system rather than only as backup.
  • Home offices. A desktop, monitors, router and lighting through a full working day.
  • Households that cook simply. The rice cooker capability genuinely changes what a long outage feels like.

Full specifications, as published by the manufacturer

Specification Value
Brand Meco Power, Shenzhen MECO New Energy Co., Ltd
Model Meco 2kWh, listed on the datasheet as 2kWh/1200W
Battery chemistry LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate)
Cell configuration Two 314Ah large cells
Rated battery capacity 2009.6Wh
Battery lifespan 8,000 cycles
Rated output power 1200W
Output waveform Pure sine wave
AC output voltage 220V, range 200V to 240V
Operating frequency 50Hz or 60Hz
AC outlet Universal
AC input voltage 220V, range 90V to 280V
AC input frequency 45Hz to 65Hz
AC charging power 1200W
PV input voltage 12V to 60V
Maximum PV input power 600W
Conversion efficiency 92%, gallium nitride electronics
Integrated components MPPT controller, inverter, battery, BMS
Dimensions 252 x 226 x 311mm
Weight Around 19kg, see the note on manufacturer figures above
Ingress protection IP20, indoor use only
Operating temperature 0C to 40C
Humidity Up to 90%
Operating altitude Up to 3000m
Shelf time when fully charged 1 year
Certification UN38.3 and IEC62368
Protections Mains over and under voltage, AC output over current, PV over and under voltage, PV reverse polarity, PV input power limiting, over charge, over discharge, cell high and low temperature, over temperature, short circuit

Getting the most out of it

Add up your loads first. Read the wattage from the rating plate of everything you want running at once. Under 300W gives a long, comfortable night. Approaching 1200W gives about an hour and a half.

Start the fridge on its own. Connect it before other loads so the compressor has full headroom for its first start.

Match the panel to the 60V window. One large panel, or several smaller ones in parallel. Two large panels in series will exceed the input limit.

Keep it indoors. IP20, with no exceptions for a quick job outside.

Pre cool before a planned outage. Turning the fridge or freezer colder for a few hours beforehand builds a cold store, so the compressor runs far less once you are on battery.

Allow airflow. Gallium nitride electronics run cooler than silicon, but the unit still wants space around it rather than a tight cupboard.

Not sure whether the 1kWh or the 2kWh fits, or which solar panel suits the 12V to 60V input?

Send us what needs running during an outage and for how long, and we will tell you plainly which unit covers it, which panel matches the input window, or whether your situation is better answered by a permanent installation. To size a whole property system, start with the Solar Calculator. For this unit, a matched panel, or delivery to your county, send your requirements through My Quote and we will come back with a costed package.

Need Help? Chat with us!
Start a Conversation
Hi! Click one of our members below to chat on WhatsApp
We usually reply in a few minutes